San Antonio Aviation and Aerospace Hall of Fame 2017 Awards Dinner

Event Date 30 March 2017

We invite you to participate in this historic event by attending the dinner on 30 March 2017 and becoming engaged in associated event activities.

To honor San Antonio’s Aviation and Aerospace History and to nurture our future generations of aviation and aerospace innovators, The Dee Howard Foundation (DHF) and the San Antonio Airpower Heritage Foundation (SAAHF) have joined together, in collaboration with other local, state, and national partners, to organize the San Antonio Aviation and Aerospace Hall of Fame 2017 Awards Dinner to be hosted by GDC Technics at their state of the art hangar at Port San Antonio.

The event will be part of the celebration of the 100 year anniversary of the founding of Kelly Field and will feature a reception, dinner, induction of 2017 Honorees, and a display of current and vintage US Military and civilian aircraft. There will also be exhibits by some of DHF's education partners.

The San Antonio Aviation and Aerospace Hall of Fame is privileged to announce that the Hon. Ivy R. Taylor, Mayor of the City of San Antonio, will open the San Antonio Aviation and Aerospace Hall of Fame 2017 Awards Dinner and that the Hon. Phil Hardberger will be the Keynote Speaker. Mayor Hardberger has been described by the San Antonio Express-News as one of San Antonio's most popular mayors having carried an approval rating of 86 percent and captured 77 percent of the vote during his re-election. Mayor Hardberger is also a veteran USAF and civilian pilot , a former Associate and Chief Justice of the Fourth Court of Appeals, and began his legal career in Washington D.C. as executive secretary of the Peace Corps and then assistant director of the U.S. Office of Economic Opportunity. In 2007, Mayor Hardberger was honored by the Federal Aviation Administration with the Wright Brothers "Master Pilot" Award for 50 years of piloting planes safely.  Richard Perez, President and CEO of the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, will be the MC of this historic event.

To learn more about how you can help honor San Antonio’s aviation and aerospace history we invite you to revisit this web page and the DHF Facebook page where we will post further updates as plans progress.

For information on the mission of the San Antonio Aviation and Aerospace Hall of Fame and its cooperating organizations, visit the SAAAHoF web page.

To view slideshows of the inaugural event, visit this page.

To view the Hall of Fame event history we invite you to visit the other annual event pages. 




    Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison

    For her leadership in the creation of Port San Antonio.

    Lt. Col. Olga Custodio (USAF Retired)

    For her leadership as the first Latina US military pilot, first Latina flight instructor for the Air Education and Training Command, and the first Latina captain for American Airlines

    Dr. Bernard A. Harris, Jr.

    For his leadership as a NASA astronaut . Dr.Harris became the first African American to perform an extra-vehicular activity(spacewalk)during the second of his two Space Shuttle flights.

    Col. William Charles Ocker and Major Carl Joseph Crane

    For their leadership in developing instrument flight systems .The Crane/Ocker collaboration resulted in the invention of the Pre-Flight Reflex Trainer, a navigational aid called the Flight Integrator, and their co-authorship in 1932 of the world's first manual for instrumental flight, Blind Flight in Theory and Practice (1932).

    William Tuttle and Luther Bynum Clegg

    For their leadership in funding and acquiring the land that was deeded to the US government that became Randolph Air Force Base and in the process helped retain Kelly Field in San Antonio.

    433rd Airlift Wing

    For its leadership in ensuring combat readiness and performance of peacetime missions.


    San Antonio Aviation and Aerospace Hall of Fame 2017 Awards Dinner

    Registration for this event has closed.

    To sponsor a table at future events or to learn of additional sponsorship opportunities, please call Wayne I. Fagan at (210) 570-7888 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

    Program Brochure

    Download the program in PDF

    • 2017 Awards Dinner